Avon Dassett Soapbox Derby 24 June 2023

The annual Soapbox Derby was another brilliant day of thrilling racing, showcasing the village at its best and raising money for the Children’s Christmas Wish List charity.

Unfortunately, we had one accident but the safety car and first aider were quickly on the scene and decided that the driver should go to hospital to get checked out. He has a broken foot but is in good spirits and determined to come back faster next year.

Our junior race was very competitive and included our only female entrant and our youngest ever driver who was only 6!

Junior Soapbox Derby Results

  1. Max Merry in M Power (35.0 seconds)
  2. Freddie Morgan-Smart in Ready Freddie Go (40.3 seconds)
  3. Callum Lugger-Freke in DeLorean Back for the Win (43.8 seconds)
  4. Tyler Green in Rockie Patroller (45.8 seconds)
  5. Alicia Green in DeVi (52.0 seconds)

The senior racing was also very speedy with sub 40 second times being clocked! The head to head races saw some very tight finishes.

Senior Soapbox Derby Results

  1. Paul Merry in M Power (39.4 seconds)
  2. Brian Stanford in Norfolk and Chance
  3. Richard Burton in Acceleramus (42.6 seconds)
  4. Carl Marshall in Topstreet Torpedo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *